Handmade Wardrobe Planning: Part 3

So, in Part 1 of this series of posts, I talk about my style, making things I’d actually wear, and gave a fairly comprehensive list of attributes I’d have in my perfect wardrobe. In Part 2, I went through one article’s recommendation for low-to-no-cost sewing patterns to get a full range of garments needed to have a complete wardrobe.

This section is going to be for checking in as well as filling in the gaps. I’ll be dividing the sections up very similarly to Part 2. (If a link is missing, it will likely be cited in one or both of the two previous posts.)

PLEASE NOTE: This list is an enormous block of text with links and snarky comments. The simple illustration has every color mentioned as well as three outfits made from the patterns listed as ideas. I’ll be going through everything listed here in more depth in later posts. IF YOU WANT TO SKIP THIS ONE, I WON’T BE OFFENDED. Mostly, this is for my own reference and to make sure I have a rough outline of what I’m getting myself into.

t+tblog_wardrobe_plan3

Let me tell you, I did a SERIOUS cleaning out of my Ravelry queue while writing up this post. There were a lot of patterns I liked the idea of or someone had said it would look good on me or a variety of other things, but I just would not want to knit it or I wouldn’t want to wear it. The knitting patterns listed below are only going to be free pattern or the “but I NEED it” paid-for patterns, since this would be two miles of links instead of just one otherwise.

Also, yes, I am VERY aware that I have a sweater pattern problem. Trust me, I cleared out more than half of the sweater patterns in my Ravelry queue and STILL had that many.


Tops:

  • Loose t-shirts – For this, my plan is to use the Laundry Day Tee. I’d like to make at least one each of the short sleeve and elbow-length sleeve lengths on the regular shirt length. Either the scoop or v-neck. I would probably use plain colored, heather, or space-dyed jersey knit fabric. Not too thick, but also not transparent.
  • Loose long sleeve shirts – I would use the Plantain Shirt pattern. One would have 3/4 sleeves and the second would have long sleeves. Jersey knit fabric of the same specifications for the t-shirts. Later down the line, I’d like to make a couple of the Grainline Archer button-downs as well in light flannel for the colder months.
  • Tunics – I would also use the Laundry Day Tee, but in the high-low tunic-length for the pattern. Probably a v-neck with the elbow length sleeves. I would lean more towards a heather jersey knit, or a tonally space-dyed type. Again, not too thick, but not transparent. BE SURE TO ADD POCKETS.
  • Light tank tops – Here is a video tutorial for drafting a tank top for knit fabrics using one you own that fits well.
  • Camisoles – The So Zo Camisole from this pattern set is a good start and I would make it in a variety of colors in lightweight jersey knit cotton. I definitely wear a lot of mint camis, peach, mauve, and coral, but I am in need of some light gray, black, brown, tan, and other neutral colors. This is such a staple piece to my wardrobe, that I would probably just keep making these as I make new tops and leggings so I have enough to mix and match.

Bottoms:

  • Leggings – The Peg Legs legging pattern in a medium to thick stretchy jersey knit. I’d make a couple pairs of the capri length (one in black, one in wine) and four or more pairs of the ankle length (two in black, one in dark gray, one in dark purple). I want at least two of these to have patch pockets (the downfall of leggings being no where for my phone).
  • Loose-fitting shorts – The largest size of the Purl Soho City Gym Shorts might fit, but I may need to fudge the pattern a few inches larger and definitely longer. I definitely like the chambray idea, as well as the vintage-feel faded floral prints in cotton. What I’m finding is that most of the shorts patterns don’t size up past a rather narrow Large and the patterns that look really good are guides for drafting your own pattern. Another option is to follow this tutorial “How to Sew Shorts from Pants Pattern” that was recommended by one site. The tutorial specifically mentions the Forsythe Trousers that I was looking at.
  • Jeans/Pants – I am looking forward to the Forsythe Trousers. An insane amount of attention to detail, variety of sizing, and additional instructions for making sure you get a good fit. A little under $12 and it looks to be worth every penny. I’d make at least one pair of long and one pair of capri length. Probably the capri in a chambray and I’d want to look for a stretch woven in dark gray for the long pair.

Lounge Wear:

Under Garments:

  • Underwear – So Zo Panties are a good start. I have half a dozen other patterns pinned on Pinterest, so if these don’t work out, I’d move to another pattern. (The Remnants pattern is a good reference for using up leftover fabrics.) I’d probably use the leftovers from the camisoles and other stretch fabrics from my other clothes to start, then work with more of the synthetic or bamboo blend jersey knits as those are my favorite to wear.
  • Bras – The Maya Bra is another good start. It sounds like it has enough options and modifications to fit whatever size. My main issue is that this has a lot of hardware and needed supplies. I’d have to save up for this (or disassemble some of my older bras, but most likely a combination of the two). Unless something comes up, this will probably be last on my list to make and I’ll be trying to get the supplies in bulk so I can make a LOT of them.

Over-layers:

Athletic Wear:

  • Athletic leggings – Peg Legs legging pattern in synthetic stretch material in purple, black, and teal (I don’t know why, these are just my gym clothes colors that I always pick). Put thigh pockets on every single pair so that I can take my phone and my car keys when I run (maybe a loop to hook the keys to inside one of the pockets).
  • Sneaker socksPom Pom Socklets by Purl Soho (minus the pom poms and knit at a much tighter gauge) in purple, gray, teal, and black wool/nylon or 100% nylon fingering weight yarns.
  • Hiking socksHunting Socks by The Spool Cotton Company in charcoal gray worsted weight wool/nylon blend. Hiking Socks by Kerin Dimeler-Laurence in beige and medium gray wool/nylon blend fingering weight wool.
  • Sports bras – The Vitality Racerback Sports Bra in the same synthetic stretch material as the athletic leggings and in the same purple, black, and teal colors.
  • Racerback tanks – The Vitality Racerback Tank in a cotton/polyester jersey knit in purple, black, and teal. I would modify the sides to create an a-line frame instead of a fitted waist (it’s more flattering on me and prevents the shirt from riding up while I run and do yoga.
  • Zip-front athletic jackets – I can’t find a good zip-front athletic jacket like the one I use, so I’m going to try to draft a pattern from it with a major modification: POCKETS WITH CLOSURES. My favorite running jacket doesn’t have closures, so I have to hold my phone down.
  • Light over-layer (long sleeve shirts and thermals) – I’d probably use the Laundry Day Tee. I’d make one in a thermal fabric, scoop neck, long sleeve, regular shirt length (maybe add an inch or two to make sure it was long enough for keeping warm outdoors). I’d make a second in a cotton/polyester jersey knit (like the racerback tanks) with a v-neck, long sleeves, and a regular shirt length. I would probably add a few inches to this one as well to make sure that it stayed down while running.
  • Hiking Skirt – My butt gets so cold and I NEED this. Warm Butt Hiking Skirt. Would need to be sized up, I’m sure. I’d like one in black.

Accessories:

2 thoughts on “Handmade Wardrobe Planning: Part 3

  1. Thanks for putting so many links in this post! I’m on a mission to make more of my wardrobe myself, too. As far as bras I’m actually planning to start with the Watson Bra because it doesn’t have an underwire. It seems a little more accessible to a newbie like me.

    Like

    1. I haven’t heard of the Watson Bra, but I’ll look into it. I’m pretty sure underwire is a necessity for me, though…

      No problem regarding the links. This is as much for my own notes and reference as it is for others looking to make a wardrobe!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

