Handmade Wardrobe Planning: Part 2

Continuing from my Part 1 post, I’m going to talk a little about another article I found.

The article “How to Build a Wardrobe of Indie Patterns for $34(including athletic wear)” by Katie of The Creative Counselor blog sounded right up my alley. Inexpensive or free patterns for the budget-bound that support indie creators and cover pretty much all areas needed for a fully functioning wardrobe. I really only have two issues with this article. One, she has a bit different of a style from me. Two, this is pretty outdated (December 2015) and some of the links no longer go places. I still think it’s a decent resource for getting started, though.

Now, this is all well and good, but I really want to take into consideration what the previous post talked about (a refresher, modified for sewing, below).

  1. Really think about your style.
  2. Be intentional about colors and fabrics.
  3. Find and follow designers and fabric companies that you resonate with.
  4. Think in terms of your whole wardrobe.

Keeping these things in mind, I’m going to go through the patterns in the article and later on see about finding better options for me or adding my own version to help make sure my style and necessities are taken care of.

The author divides the patterns by the type of garment they are, which helps make sure that all bases are covered and also gives room to compare and contrast different patterns of the same type. I’ll be following the same format, here.


T-shirts and Tunics:

I skipped one of the shirts from the article, as it was too tight and the sizing was weird

  • The first t-shirt cited is the Laundry Day Tee, which comes in sizes XS through XXXL, 3 neckline options (scoop, v-neck, and cowl), 5 sleeve lengths (tank, short, elbow, 3/4, and long), and multiple length and hem options (shirt length, tunic length, dress, high/low hem options for the tunic and dress lengths). Lots of photos, lots of positive reviews, lots of options, updated June 2017. This is definitely one I want to try out. At the time of the original article, it says that if you join the Facebook group, the pattern is free. I can see on the page that it says there is a special discount code for members of the group, but have not yet verified that it’s still free.
  • The Plantain Tee is more flowy in the middle and I think it would be a good option for a more casual top. Sized 34-52 in French sizes. I just think this would be the closest to my needs for a regular shirt. Just need to make an account and log in to download.

Dolman Sleeve Top:

I’m just not a fan of the Dolman top that was listed. It just didn’t look as nice.

Woven Top:

Neither woven top was really my style, so this is another category I’ll come back to later.

Cardigan:

I plan to knit my cardigans, so I’ll get back to this in the next knitting post.

Leggings:

I LIVE in leggings, so this part was important to me.

  • The Peg Legs legging pattern is free and has sizes from XXS to XXXL and 4 length options. It has a lot of good reviews for fit, as well. This could also be worked in athletic material for exercise leggings. Definitely going to try out this pattern.

Skirts:

I don’t really wear skirts, so it’s not something I’ll be making unless things change.

Lingerie:

  • The SoZo Panties and Camisole patterns are really high on my list of want-to-make. I wear camisoles all the time (about as much as I wear leggings), so it’s always something I need a good pattern for.
  • The Maya Bra is a free underwire bra pattern with cup sizes B to J. It’s being updated to English, but there has been a lot of progress on the English translation. There are a lot of notes for fit, sizing, and modifications, so I’m hopeful.

Pants/Jeans:

These are both paid-for patterns, but the jeans (the ones I was actually interested in) have been taken down. The site only seems to be up in Google Archives. The trouser/shorts option just doesn’t look like something that would fit or flatter me, so pass.

Button Down:

  • The Grainline Archer shirt is recommended, and the price has gone up to $16 for the PDF, but it’s got good reviews. Sized 0 through 18. It’s a bit pricey for me right now, but I may be picking up a copy down the road.

Sports Bra/Athletic Top:


So, these are the patterns I’ve gotten out of this list. I’ll be looking into other options (mostly free, because finances are tight). Hope this helps anyone else looking into sewing patterns.

As you can see, not all my bases were covered by what remains of the list. I’ll need to flesh out things a bit more and will probably do so in my next post about handmaking my wardrobe.

One thought on “Handmade Wardrobe Planning: Part 2

Leave a Reply

