Day 28: Do you do any other crafts besides knitting? What are they, and did learning to knit come before or after learning these other crafts?

As I had mentioned in a previous prompt, I started off with crochet before knitting. I don’t crochet as much any more, but I am working on a large granny square blanket.

I also sew, but again, not as much as I knit. I have plans for May that include starting a light-weight summer quilt. I’d like to eventually get into garment sewing, but I need to master The Straight Line first.

I’ve also dabbled in spinning, embroidery, paper crafts, miniature macrame (little crystals to hang from a crochet dreamcatcher), and a bunch of other things.

As some of you know, I’m also a freelance digital concept artist, but I count that as separate from “crafting”. To me, “crafting” usually implies a physical, usable object made for a specific purpose. While something crafted can be “art”, “art” is not “craft” by definition. (I labored through an undergraduate program in Studio Art. This was a regular topic of discussion and I’ve written about it to death in academic papers. I really hate that this is a topic they drill into you with an extremely biased angle.)

I’m regularly picking up new crafts that I’d be interested in, but knitting holds a special place in my heart.10

Leave a Reply

