Day 27: How do you acquire most of yarn?

Full Prompt: How do you acquire most of yarn? Online retailers, local yarn shops, swaps, or large chain craft stores? What’s your favorite?

Most of my yarn is acquired via my beautiful local yarn shop, HeartStrings Yarn in Chico, CA. Everyone is lovely and it really feels like coming home. Whenever I walk in, I get greeted by name, asked how my [insert specific project I was working on the last time I was in] is going, and they know my needle brand and various other preferences. It’s really the most welcome I’ve ever felt in a knitting shop.

I would like to be involved in swaps. I’ve not had much opportunity and I’d really like to do a mini skein swap. I don’t have many mini skeins, though. I really need to knit more socks so that I can have more leftovers. But perhaps that will be something exciting in the future.

I would also like to buy more indie dyed yarns online. That is a big goal of mine. I’ve been lucky in that I’ve obtained a few skeins of Knitted Wit, Hedgehog Fibres, and Wonderland Yarns from knitting shops, but I would love to expand my collection!

Leave a Reply

