Day 22: Have you ever stricken someone off your to-knit-for list?

Full prompt: “Have you ever stricken someone off your to-knit-for list because they didn’t appreciate/take care of your last knitted gift to them?”

Yes. This is why I don’t knit much for friends or family. This is also why I’ve written off commissioned knitting (with a few exceptions that are taking forever).

I’ve had some EXPLOSIVELY bad experiences with knitting commissions, so I just won’t be taking on any more. It’s not worth the panic attacks and getting screamed at.

In regards to family and friends, I have made a few things for people who just did not appreciate them. Usually this happens for a surprise, but I’ve also had a handful of people who have been really demanding about me knitting something for them and not understanding that it takes DAYS to finish a project and yarn is EXPENSIVE.

The average pair of socks I make for myself costs $20 in materials and takes 4 to 7 days to make. I don’t do this because it saves time or money.

This is a hobby that I enjoy. I won’t be bullied into not enjoying it by people who don’t respect the value of what I make. (I usually break or severely lessen contact with these people, at least for a while, because it’s a pretty good sign that they’re unhealthy to be around for extended periods of time.)

Leave a Reply

