Who knew April would be so crazy? Catching up.

I’ve missed almost a week! Holy crap.

Day 16: Have you ever had a knitting related injury?

Actually, I currently have a knitting related injury.

I started using sharper point needles and accidentally stabbed a hole in my finger. For the most part, I’ve been good at avoiding it, but every once in a while, I’ll jab the same exact spot and it hurts like hell!

I’ve had quite a few random injuries that can be chalked up to knitting. Mostly muscle strain, cramping, and the like. Minor stab wounds. Accidentally cutting myself instead of my yarn ends. Tripping going up the stairs to the yarn shop. Being generally klutzy within the yarn shop.

Let’s just leave it at the fact that I’m accident prone, yeah?

Day 17: Have you ever had a project that you loved become ruined? What’s the story behind it?

Again with the negative prompts?

I’ve had a few projects. I had a sweater I was making for my boyfriend at the time unravel when blocking (the relationship was cursed before the sweater, and I didn’t know what I was doing anyways, so…). My Mom accidentally put my Dad’s socks in the washer and dryer (luckily, they stretched back out to his foot size with some fiddling). I’ve had pets chew up projects and instantly understand that should they even look at yarn again, they would be in deep shit.

Currently, I have a shawl that I adore with a hole in it. It’s not ruined, per say, but it does require mending and I just haven’t found the time nor materials to do it right. It’s on my to-do list, to be sure.

Day 18: Do you knit English or Continental?

I typically knit English because it’s how I learned. It provides a certain amount of control, for me at least. I am a bit of a control nut, so it makes a certain amount of sense.

I do KNOW how to knit Continental, and do for certain projects, but it doesn’t come as naturally to me as English style does.

Day 19: Do you watch movies and/or listen to podcasts while knitting? What are your favorite things to knit to?

Almost to the exclusivity of everything else, I knit to podcasts. I also knit when watching a show or movie, but I don’t watch that many shows or movies.

I’m a fan of quite a number of podcasts, and watch a large number. The list is crazy long, but here’s a short list of some of them:
The Knit Girllls
Wet Coast Wools Podcast
The Grocery Girls
The Yarngasm Podcast
Tshirts & Shawls
The Yarn Hoarder
The Fawn Knits
Knitting in the City (which is on a super long hiatus, sadly)

I have a very long list of other podcasts that I intend to watch, but I’m currently catching up on The Fawn Knits from the beginning (I’m about halfway through).

Day 20: Do you knit in public? Was anyone offended/incredibly happy/curious that you were doing so?

Always. Usually it goes unnoticed, but I’ve gotten comments.

One of my professors was a little upset that I was knitting in his class, but quickly figured out that my classwork was better when I was just listening and knitting rather than taking notes. For certain things, I’m much more of an auditory learner, and I simply could not write fast enough for History of Economics. I got much more out of the class without being distracted by trying to write everything down.

I also got hit on and kissed on the cheek by a drunk girl at a bar who thought that it was a really attractive quality to knit at the bar. It was made hilarious by the fact that I was hanging out with a friend of a friend who was very upset that I didn’t get her number for him (CLEARLY, you’re not her type, bro).

Day 21: Do you knit gifts for friends and family for the holidays or birthdays?

I do, on occasion. More often than not, I don’t. A little more on that in tomorrow’s post.

I have started making it a tradition to knit my dad socks for Christmas or his birthday every year, because he’s super appreciative and it makes me happy when I hear that he does so much effort to keep the socks I knit him nice. For the longest time, he would only wear the socks I knit him when he was sick or not feeling well, because that would make him happy, but he would wear his store-bought black socks over them to keep them clean and cut down on the wear.

My mom is a little… harder on the things I make her. I’ve stuck to mostly fingerless mitts for her with the occasional shawl, but I made her a pair of slipper socks for Christmas.

I have a few projects planned out as gifts for other people, but it’s a rare occurrence for me to gift-knit. A lot of work goes into a knitted object! Plus, most of the people I know either run hot, live in a hot climate, or just don’t like knitted things. Weirdos.

Leave a Reply

