Day 2: What is currently on your needles?

I regularly have a lot of knitting going all at once. The start of the month also signified the start of “Break Month” for the Harry Potter Knitting and Crochet House Cup. Due to that, I just finished a large pile of works in progress, but I still have a few that are going, presetly. I won’t bore you with the complete list, though.


First I have the Knit N’ Slide shawl by Stephen West. I was very excited to start this shawl and almost finished the entire thing in just the month if January. I got busy  though, and the rows are insanely long. I was slowed immensely by the picot bind off, and that is where I’m at, presently. If I spent a day just working on the bind off with some podcasts going, I could probably finish the last of it and weave in the ends.

 

This is the Scarfy Thing by Beata Jezek. I started it just a few days before the shawl, but have been working on it on and off for the past three months. Again, I am slowed by the bind off; a combination of i-cord bind off and applied i-cord edging. A short afternoon of finishing the edging and weaving in the hundred or so ends would leave me with a lovely finished piece.


Here is a Safire cropped cardigan by Hilary Smith Callis. I need to finish the cuff of one sleeve, knit the second sleeve, knit the collar, and add buttons. Maybe two afternoons once I’ve found the buttons. This is made complicated by needing to turn the body of the cardigan while knitting the sleeves in the round.


I’ve been designing this pair of socks for my Mom since mid-February. They’re for my Mom and it’s her first pair of handknit socks, so I want them to feel like they were made just for her, and custom to her alone (because they are). This has lead to a ridiculous amount of shaping and made them too involving to be a purse project. As such, they have been sitting untouched for a while while other things have taken precedence.


Finally, these are my first pair of Rose City Rollers by Mara Catherine Bryner. I love this pattern. I can’t speak highly enough of how well it is written. I would recommend this conversationally written, easy to follow pattern to anyone, beginner to expert. The socks I’m getting from the pattern are also really well-fitting and comfortable. I had intended to use the pattern to quickly kick out a few pairs of stashbuster socks, but was pleasantly surprised and delighted by the pattern.

Those are my WIPs. Stay tuned for more challenge prompts tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

