Day 1: What was your first finished project?

First day of the 30 Day Knitting Challenge!

I started knitting when I was twelve. I had been crocheting for four years and had just wanted to achieve a different fabric with my yarn. I felt like I had learned all I wanted to about crochet at that juncture.

So, I asked my Mom if she knew anything about knitting. She said she had tried to learn from a coworker back before I was born and somehow managed to pull out a partial pink cotton vest. She couldn’t remember how to cast on, so we looked it up online.

Now, I want to take this time to mention that this was two years before the invention of Google. I don’t even remember what search engine we used, but there were only two results for knitting and only one “how-to”. Furthermore, the instructions site was a plain document. It was solid white with black Times New Roman font and no pictures.

So, try as we might to make heads or tails of this page, we gave up and went to the craft store the next day. This craft store sold knitting supplies, but didn’t employ knitters, so the associate knew about as much as we did.

We managed to find a kids “how to knit” book and appropriate needles. As soon as we got home, I started working my way through the basics. I don’t remember for certain, but I’m pretty sure my first finished project was a pair of blue acrylic wrist warmers in garter stitch on size 7 needles. If not my first, it was soon to follow. I ripped it out probably eight times to get it right.

Leave a Reply

