Losing my notebook is like losing my mind.

I have a notebook that I keep that is one part journal, one part organizer, one part word vomit and it helps keep me from going nuts because I can get it all out of my head and onto a surface that I can revisit as needed (which is seldom, but it’s comforting to know that it’s all there).

The problem is that sometimes I lose this notebook. I try to use scratch paper or whatever and it helps to a degree, but it’s definitely not the same as having it all in one place. When it’s all in one place, it stays all together and doesn’t need to be kept on your person at all times to avoid losing it all over again. Keeping it digitally is also no good; I can’t use it during class-time and the act of writing is part of the calming effect.

I’m currently missing my notebook. I put it in a neon rainbow book sleeve in order to prevent that, and it worked for a while, but now it’s so buried that I can’t find it.

I am in my last semester of undergrad and the amount of nonsense I have to put up with is currently mountain-esque. Five project-based classes, a part-time job, and applying for full-time work after graduation will do that to you. Oh, and I’m in the middle of moving.┬áHaving an anxiety disorder doesn’t help (it never seems to).

So, right now, I’m very disorganized and anxious about a lot of different things and I can’t seem to get the tangled trains of thoughts to straighten out. It’s causing me to miss a lot of deadlines because I have no idea what is due, when it’s due, or the steps I need to take to get any of it done.

This has put me in “line-of-sight-mode”. Basically, my brain has reverted into task instigation via Pokemon battle rules. If I can see it, it’s what’s going to get done. This isn’t as productive as you’d think and it means that a lot of very important tasks are being left out of my task list because they aren’t within sight.

I think what I’m going to end up needing to do is just start a new notebook until I can get the crazy to calm down and find my rainbow striped one. At least that way I’ll be able to get something done.

What about you? Do you have any tools that you have to have on hand? What do you do when you lose them? Let me know in the comments!

One thought on “Losing my notebook is like losing my mind.

Leave a Reply

